Results of FIFA Executive Committee Meeting: World Cup Participant Payments; Youth World Cup Hosts Announced

On December 4 and 5, the FIFA Executive Committee held its final meeting of 2013 in Bahia, Brazil. The Committee was scheduled to discuss a variety of subjects, from selecting future youth world cup hosts to approval of the revised FIFA Code of Ethics and FIFA Regulations Governing International Matches.  Here is a brief summary of key results of the Committee’s meetings:

image courtesy

image courtesy

Contribution Pool for FIFA World Cup Participants

The FIFA Finance Committee approved an increase to the contribution pool for 2014 World Cup Participants of 37%, raising the total payout to participants from $420 million in 2010 to $576 million in 2014.  The $576 million contribution will be distributed as follows:

–        $358 million to 2014 World Cup Participants:

  • $35 million to the winner
  • $25 million to the runner-up
  • $22 million to the 3rd place team
  • $20 million to the 4th place team
  • $14 million to each quarterfinalist team
  • $9 million to each round of 16 team
  • $8 million to each team eliminated in the group stage

–        Each qualified team will receive $1.5 million in preparation costs

–        FIFA will distribute $70 million to member associations of the clubs whose players take part in the final competition as contribution towards their participation

–       FIFA will allocate $100 million to the Club Protection Programme, which was launched in 2012 and was implemented to compensate club teams if their players are severely injured while playing in World Cup qualifiers or World Cup matches.

Notably, the disparity between the monetary award for the winner and those teams eliminated in the group round is $27 million, which is not a small amount of money for national teams consistently competing in confederation and global tournaments.

Youth World Cup Hosts

Among the decisions that were made—and which appear to have flown below the collective media radar—is the awarding of the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2016 to Jordan; the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2016 to South Africa; the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 to India; and the FIFA U-20 World Cup 2017 to Korea Republic.  Both U-20 World Cups were awarded to countries that previously hosted World Cups (Korea Republic, which jointly hosted the 2002 World Cup with Japan, and South Africa, which hosted the 2010 World Cup), while the U-17 World Cups were awarded to countries that have not previously hosted major FIFA events.  For those keeping track at home or making plans to support youth national teams the below list identifies the host countries for each of the four tournaments since 1999 (for men’s tournaments) and 2002 (for women’s tournaments):

FIFA U-20 World Cup (formerly the FIFA World Youth Championship): Nigeria (1999); Argentina (2001); United Arab Emirates (2003); Netherlands (2005); Canada (2007); Egypt (2009); Colombia (2011); Turkey (2013)

Forthcoming: New Zealand (2015); Korea Republic (2017)

FIFA U-17 World Cup: New Zealand (1999); Trinidad and Tobago (2001); Finland (2003); Peru (2005); Korea Republic (2007); Nigeria (2009); Mexico (2011); United Arab Emirates (2013)

Forthcoming: Chile (2015); India (2017)

FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup (formerly the U-19 or U-20 Women’s World Championship): Canada (2002); Thailand (2004); Russia (2006); Chile (2008); Germany (2010); Japan (2012)

Forthcoming: Canada (2014); South Africa (2016)

FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup: New Zealand (2008); Trinidad and Tobago (2010); Azerbaijan (2012)

Forthcoming: Costa Rica (2014); Jordan (2016)

FIFA Code of Ethics and FIFA Regulations Governing International Matches

The FIFA Media Release did not further describe the revisions to the FIFA Code of Ethics (which were last revised in 2012) and FIFA Regulations Governing International Matches.  Business of Soccer will report on those updates as they are implemented and/or publicly available.

Reporting on the business side of the world's game.